College of Fine Arts, Seoul National University was first established in August 1946 as the Faculty of Art, College of Arts, Seoul National University. After several reorganizations of the structure, the College of Fine Arts now consists of the Department of Oriental Painting, Department of Painting, Department of Sculpture, and Faculty of Crafts and Design, which is subdivided into the Crafts and Design department respectively. Four-year undergraduate course and two-year master’s courses and doctorate courses are provided for the aforementioned fields. In addition, the College also has cooperative majors in Media Arts and the Integrated Creative Design at the undergraduate school, and separately runs Art Management at the graduate-school.

Located at Seoul Nation University’s Gwanak campus in Seoul, South Korea, the College of Fine Arts is equipped with specialized facilities such as a traditional kiln for ceramics, a traditional paper-making studio, video editing studios, blacksmithing workshops, and a mural studio, in addition to designated classrooms and studios for each major. Additionally, there are research facilities such as a library and video archive. The Institute for Plastic Arts and Korean Design Industry Research Center not only carries out diverse research projects, but is also contributing greatly to the advancement of plastic arts through academic conventions, publication of academic journals, construction of archives, etc. Meanwhile, the Woosuk Hall gallery, which was opened in 2005 at the 60th anniversary of the College of Fine Arts, is an exhibition space within the College. The gallery encourages students to present their work to the public and caters to the cultural needs of University constituents, serving as a field for diverse cultural exchange.

College of Fine Arts, Seoul National University, 1 Gwanak-ro, Gwanak-gu, Seoul 151-742, Korea
Copyright 2018 Seoul National University All Rights Reserved.